top of page
Home: Photo Gallery

CALLIGRAPHY BY MELS

Freelance Calligrapher based in Malaysia

Bringing your calligraphy dreams to live! What started out as just 'trying out' has became a full time passion and interest to a wanderluster. Here we do our best to cater to your needs and to spread happiness and joy through the art of calligraphy.

Home: Headliner

25 DAYS OF CHRISTMAS LETTERING

Home: Photo Gallery
Home: Blog2
Search

WHY CALLIGRAPHY AND HOW I STARTED



I have always been fond of writing - using a pen and paper. I am rather particular with neat writing, and I have always received compliments on my writing from my family and friends! I guess learning calligraphy has also got to do with my personal interest besides filling my spare time that I have now!


I have seen many images and videos of hand lettering all over social media and damn aren't they just mesmerizing and satisfying to watch! I never really gave it much thought until the mid of 2018. I started YouTube-ing many calligraphy videos to understand the concept better, how it's done, materials needed, and most importantly if it's possible to self learn.


Buying my first set of brush pens from popular bookstore, I felt really overwhelmed on my very first calligraphy practice mainly due to expectations vs reality. Obviously nothing I wrote looked anything like what I see online. In fact, that lasted for a couple of weeks before it started looking more presentable. Fast forward 6 months, I'm glad that I took the first step into discovering calligraphy.  


I believe that the core attitude one must have for learning calligraphy is to have patience and always remember that one does not master the skill overnight. It takes many practices to get the hang of things. (And I guess this rule pretty much applies for anything we do in life!)

If you have made it till the end of this post, I thank you for your time and support on this brand new website as well as for my calligraphy work. If you're a newbie in calligraphy or is looking to discover calligraphy, you may read more at http://www.melstan.com/2018/11/calligraphy-for-beginners.html. 


Thank you and stay tuned!

0 comments

GET IN TOUCH

Thanks for your interest in Meligraphyy. For service enquiries / collaborations, kindly fill the form below and we will get back to you soon.

  • instagram
  • facebook
Home: Contact
bottom of page